strawberry walnut shortbread bars

I’m a huge fan of Nicole Weston! I check her blog almost daily, and when I saw this recipe the first time, I made it almost immediately because it looked so promising!
I’m posting this recipe even though I made it a while back because my roommates always tell me that it’s one of their favorite things that I’ve ever baked for them. Which is great because it really requires MINIMAL MINIMAL effort.

I love LOVE this recipe! It’s so easy, but it provides you with a fabulous, flavorful, buttery, fruity snack. And I love that it’s a bar cookie. It produces that crispy crumbley topping that I’m obviously very in love with. And the jam carmelizes slightly around the edges of the pan so I always save those pieces for myself ^_^.

It’s also a really versatile recipe because it can go from being Strawberry Walnut Bars to Raspberry Pecan Bars. Feel free to change up the nuts (I believe the original recipe calls for pecans). I just chose walnuts because I love walnuts in all my baked goods! And my sister has a bit of severe nut allergy, and I wasn’t sure if she was allowed to eat pecans or not. And you don’t have to use strawberry jam either. Nicole suggests anything from blackberry preserves to marmalade. Next time I think I’ll try blackberry or raspberry… MMmmmm… Shortbread is quite wonderful in that it’s very hard to mess up and always tastes great.

img_2497

Strawberry Walnut Shortbread Bars
original recipe from baking bites

2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 cup sugar
1/4 tsp salt
1 cup walnuts, finely chopped (Or any nut of your choice)
1 cup butter, softened
1 large egg
3/4 cup strawberry jam/preserves

Preheat the oven to 350F. Line a 9-inch square baking pan with aluminum foil and lightly grease.

In a large mixing bowl, whisk together flour, sugar, salt and walnuts, then stir in the butter and egg until mixture is crumbly, like coarse and wet sand. Set aside 2 cups of the mixture, and pour the remaining mixture into the bottom of the prepared pan. Press down gently, but firmly, into an even layer.

Spread strawberry jam over the shortbread layer. Sprinkle remaining crumbs evenly over the top. If the mixture is too wet to sprinkle, simply break it up with lightly floured fingers and spread it out.

Bake for 40-45 minutes, until lightly browned. Cool bars in the pan before slicing into desired shape and size.

5 thoughts on “strawberry walnut shortbread bars

  1. Pingback: black-bottom cupcakes, revisited « bonne vivante. devoted to food.

  2. Pingback: san francisco summer: berry bars, lemon pancakes, italian sammies |

Leave a Reply

