pumpkin dilemma

joe's pumpkin

I have a can of pumpkin puree that I don’t know what to do with.
Pumpkin is one of my favorite ingredients, but I love it in almost everything which makes it hard to pick what to make.
I have a folder of saved recipes dedicated purely to pumpkin baked goods, and almost all of them are calling out my name!!

a. Pumpkin brioche.
b. Pumpkin scones.
c. Downeast Maine pumpkin bread.
d. Soft pumpkin cookies.
e. Pumpkin gingerbread bars.

What a conundrum.

Here’s something from the archives though…
I made a pumpkin cake with buttercream frosting for a friend on her birthday a couple months ago because we both love pumpkin like crazy! I made two single-layer cakes. One for myself and my roommates to keep and taste. Haha.
I’ve also made this for my dad on his birthday also.
It’s a bit of a favorite because it’s spicy, moist, and chock-full of pumpkin flavor.
I love that it takes the entire can of pumpkin so I don’t have to “save” it for later. I always end up tossing anything that I “save.”

It was well-received. :)

You can make it into a layered cake using 2 8-inch pans or even pour it into a 9×13 pan and cut it into bars.

happy birthday!

Pumpkin Cake with Buttercream Frosting

For the cake:
4 eggs
1 2/3 cups granulated sugar
1 cup vegetable oil
15-ounce can pumpkin puree (not the spiced kind.)
2 cups sifted all-purpose flour
2 tsp. baking powder
2 tsp. ground cinnamon
1 tsp. salt
1 tsp. baking soda
3/4 cup walnuts

For the buttercream frosting:
8-ounce package cream cheese, softened
1/2 cup butter or margarine, softened
2 cups sifted confectioners’ sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.

Using an electric mixer at medium speed, combine the eggs, sugar, oil and pumpkin until light and fluffy.

Stir together the flour, baking powder, cinnamon, salt and baking soda. Add the dry ingredients to the pumpkin mixture and mix at low speed until thoroughly combined and the batter is smooth. Stir in walnuts.

Spread the batter into 2 8-inch greased baking pans. Bake for 30 minutes.

While the cake is baking, make the frosting. Combine the cream cheese and butter in a medium bowl with an electric mixer until smooth. Add the powdered sugar and mix at low speed until combined. Stir in the vanilla and mix again.

Let the cakes cool completely before frosting.

If you really like nuts, you can do what I did and crush an extra half-cup of walnuts and use them for decorating the edges of the cake.

4 thoughts on “pumpkin dilemma

  1. lynnskim

    this was AMAZING.
    please make it again. although i am looking forward to what new things you can bake.
    keep this in your recipe box forever. it’s a keeper. :)

    Like this

  2. Pingback: i believe in second chances! « jean julian kim

Leave a Reply

