flourless peanut butter cookies..

simplest cookies ever

Two weeks ago, I had a couple friends over and we were just kicking back with a couple beers and a bag of chips on a Thursday night. We were chilling and catching up because we hadn’t seen each other in a while. And then randomly, my friend Suzie says, “Hey, you bake a lot, right? Can’t you just take peanut butter straight out of the jar and bake it into cookies?”

The rest of us just stared at her and started cracking up because we all thought she was being ridiculous (as usual).

I said, “Suzie. That is craziness. You need flour, butter, etc. for cookies. You can’t just bake peanut butter, DUH!”

Well, Suzie, my friend, this post is dedicated to you because turns out, you can! Sort of..

cooling

A couple of days ago, I saw this post on Joy the Baker’s website. And normally, I DETEST peanut butter cookies but I had to make these and give them to Suzie K. And voila, when they came out of the oven, I thought they were pretty good!

I can’t explain why I don’t like peanut butter cookies.. I love peanut butter. Love peanut M&Ms. Who knows.. I guess I just don’t like the combination of cookie dough and peanut butter. Guess I found a peanut butter cookie recipe I like though!
Who knew I could like a version of a cookie without flour or butter better than the original.. \

I was going to give them all to Suzie, but I ended up giving some away to other people because I was so fascinated by them.
“Here! Taste this! What do you think? Guess what! No flour! No butter! Isn’t that amazing?”
I don’t think they shared my enthusiasm though.

ready to snack on

These were perfectly crispy around the edges but nice and chewy inside… Mmmmmmm. I should put some chocolate on it next time. Or jam?

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies
The Gourmet Cookbook

Yield: About two dozen cookies

1 cup all-natural chunky or smooth peanut butter
1 cup sugar (1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 cup granulated sugar)
1 egg
1 teaspoon baking soda

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease a baking sheet and set aside.

In a mixer combine peanut butter and sugars until well combined, about 2 minutes. Add egg and baking soda and mix for another 2 minutes.

Roll into walnut sized balls and create a cris-cross pattern with a fork. If you’d like, add a few chocolate pieces to the top of the cookies.

Bake for 10 minutes, until lightly browned. Cool on a baking sheet for two minutes, then transfer to… your mouth.

9 thoughts on “flourless peanut butter cookies..

  1. bonnevivante Post author

    I know! I was pretty amazed, too. They tasted like actual cookies which was a nice surprise.

    Like this

  2. Carrie

    Whoa, that’s crazy! I never would have thought that you could make cookies with so few ingredients. I’ve been wanting to try out some pb cookies lately….I think I’ll make these! They look gorgeous!

    Like this

  3. suz

    ahahahaa I’m glad it actually worked! I was actually doubting myself after I shared my “knowledge” ;) it gave me a pleasant surprise too that you really did try, and succeeded in making those ♥ yum~

    btw, they look like margarette..or 마가렛트 (?) in the pic don’t they? the Korean cookies!

    Like this

  4. bonnevivante Post author

    haha they do kind of look like margaret!!
    funny.
    but they don’t taste anything like it.

    Like this

  5. Pingback: Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies | Easy And Tasty Food

  6. Annie

    These looked so good I stopped what I was doing and got up and made them…YUM! I tried one dozen the way it’s called for and the second dozen I added chocolate chips. I liked it better with chocolate, however that might also be because I flattened the first batch just a little too much before I put it in the oven. But you were right, they taste great and you can’t even tell there is no flour, a celiac’s heaven. :) Thanks!

    Like this

  7. Michelle Geraghty

    you should try this recipe

    1 cup peanut butter
    1/2 cup sugar
    1 egg

    After mixing, refridgerate for 30 minutes. then roll into balls.
    325 for 18-25 minutes

    really good if you melt some chocolate, dip half in and then dip in chopped nuts. but the plain cookies are good just by themselves

    Like this

Leave a Reply

