sprinkles cupcakes!

A pretty good deal, I’d say.
$14 for a box that makes 12 Sprinkles Red Velvet Cupcakes!

Considering that a cupcake usually retails at $3.25, these mixes are pretty great. And if you don’t live near a Sprinkles bakery, also great. If you have never heard of Sprinkles or don’t live in the LA area… I suggest you go over and buy this mix right now. Sprinkles has the densest, most moist red velvet cakes I’ve ever had.

Surprisingly (and I don’t think too many people are aware of this), California Pizza Kitchen makes a decent red velvet cake, too. They sell them on the dessert menu by the slice and it’s pretty friggin’ fantastic.

They sell these mixes at all the Sprinkles locations and I think also at Williams-Sonoma stores.

The frosting recipe provided with the mix doesn’t taste quite the same as the frosting on the cupcakes sold at Sprinles chains, but still decent. A lot more sugar than my usual cream cheese frosting recipe.

as red as my mixer!

as red as my mixer!

ready for the oven!

ready for the oven!

cooling.

cooling.

.

.

If you would like me to post the official Sprinkles cream cheese frosting recipe, let me know.

[Edit: Frosting recipe added]

Sprinkles Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe

8 oz cream cheese, at room temperature
1 stick butter, firm but not cold
3 3/4 cups powdered sugar, sifted
1/8 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Using the flat beater in your electric mixer, beat cream cheese, butter, and salt on medium low speed until smooth and creamy (approx. 2-3 mins).
Reduce speed to low and gradually add the confectioners sugar, beating until incorporated.
Add the vanilla and beat just until mixed.
Do not overbeat or the frosting will incorporate too much air (it should be creamy and dense like ice cream).
Add milk (1 teaspoon at a time) if frosting is not a spreadable consistency.

I found that the frosting was double the amount that I actually needed! I like frosting but not too much, so if you’re the same, you could halve the recipe or save the rest for later. Or if you love frosting to be super thick on your cupcakes, use all of it at once.

they look so real! :)

they look so real! :)

Kind of strange how cupcakes and red velvet have become the trendy dessert in this town. I remember a couple of years ago, if someone listed their favorite cake, I don’t think I ever would have heard red velvet. But now it seems every teenage/young woman I know gets super excited about red velvet and how great it is and have you ever tasted it before.

Crazy food trends.

I remember the first time I tried red velvet cake was on my 18th birthday. I had my first Sprinkles red velvet cupcake on my 19th birthday. I had my first red velvet cheesecake shortly after my 20th birthday.
I wonder what I’ll have on my 21st birthday. What’s left?
Lynn and I contemplated the idea of red velvet ice cream. I bet someone is developing it somewhere. With a cream cheese ribbon running through it. It sounds half awesome, half weird to me though.

Too bad I won’t be spending my 21st birthday with the people I know and love at home since I’m planning on studying abroad next spring… This blog might even go on hiatus since I probably won’t have the means to bake… Hmm.
I can’t wait though.
I’m pretty sick of the LA/OC scene.

GET ME OUT OF HERE!!!!!

milan?

milan? fashion capital of europe.

or budapest? the paris of eastern europe.

or budapest? the paris of eastern europe.

hong kong? thriving asian metropolis.

hong kong? thriving asian metropolis.

6 thoughts on “sprinkles cupcakes!

  1. bonnevivante Post author

    jen – thanks so much! the little dots on top come in the box.

    pietra – so right… traffic down here is an absolute drag. -____- the worst.

    cookienurse – the frosting recipe is up! enjoy. :)

    Like this

  2. Ben

    HI There

    Really stunning food photos. First off apologies for contacting you through the comments instead of by email but I wanted to bring FoodandFizz to your attention as a great place for you to share some of your photos. We would love to feature some of your photos and hopefully send a little traffic back this way to you :) Drop me an email if you have any problems and look forward to seeing your stuff

    Regards

    Ben

    Like this

Leave a Reply

