spinach artichoke dip

I’ve been having a quarter-life crisis.

It’s funny. I thought I would be immune to the junior year panic that I saw my sister and all her friends go through, but I’m not. I thought I would follow the perfect cookie-cutter mold of a business/accounting major and take my classes and be “happy” and graduate on time with my dual degree, but I guess things don’t turn out as we expect.

I made a lot of decisions in the past three years, big and small, that led to me where I am, and yesterday, I just had the biggest epiphany. It was the weirdest thing. A feeling just choked me up, and as I reflected on the past couple of years, I just couldn’t help but think about every little step that put me in the position that I’m in today. I have my regrets, not gonna lie. I’ve definitely made some choices that have taken me off the path that maybe I should have gone down, but it’s too late to beat myself up about those things now.

At the same time, I’ve learned so much about myself. I’ve been humbled, broken down, shredded apart, and put back together again. I’ve met some great people, been disappointed by others, and it’s been a really strange year all in all.

I don’t really know what to do what myself anymore, but today is a good day. I majorly freaked out yesterday, but I talked to many wiser, older people and at least, I don’t feel like I’m going to die anymore.

Life is good.

I have at least bought myself some time, and now I’m on a search.

But meanwhile….. In the outside world, a world that doesn’t revolve around me….

Today was an epic game day with USC vs. Notre Dame! We still won our eight straight game against them, but a lot closer than usual at 34-27!!! That last one second almost killed me…. Hopefully USC doesn’t struggle this closely next week when we play against Oregon. O.M.G.

But, anyhow do you know what perfect game day food is?

Hot wings, chips, and dip.

dip :)

dip :)

Oh yes.

We just bought the hot wings from Wing Stop, but I’d been promising my roommates for forever that I’d make them some homemade dip, so today seemed like the perfect day to do it. Yum yum yum.

I swear all this fatty food is making me obese as all hell. I love spinach artichoke dip but it’s so bad for you! Cheese, alfredo sauce, cream cheese, oh my goodnasssss. Insanity. I can’t help myself though! I love the fatty foods. The greasiness amazes me. How much I love it amazes me. Mmmm.

sauce!

sauce!

Dig in!

Spinach Artichoke Dip
Yield: 12 servings (Yeah, I don’t know, there’s only four of us in this apartment…. And we all have a bit of a sharing problem.)

4 cloves garlic
1 (10 ounce) package frozen chopped spinach, thawed and drained
1 (14 ounce) can artichoke hearts, drained and chopped
1 (10 ounce) container Alfredo-style pasta sauce
1 cup shredded mozzarella cheese
1/3 cup grated Parmesan cheese
1/2 (8 ounce) package cream cheese, softened

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C).

Place garlic in a small baking dish. Bake in the preheated oven 20 to 30 minutes, until soft. Remove from heat. When cool enough to touch, squeeze softened garlic from skins.

In an 8×8 inch baking dish, spread the roasted garlic, spinach, artichoke hearts, Alfredo-style pasta sauce, mozzarella cheese, Parmesan cheese and cream cheese.

Cover with foil and bake in the preheated oven 30 minutes, or until cheeses are melted and bubbly. Broil for five minutes to brown the top but be careful not to let it burn. Serve warm with tortilla chips!

with chips

with chips

Mmmm. Another yummy treat for your eyes.

our cute freshman QB

our cute freshman QB

Isn’t Matt Barkley the cutest? He didn’t play his best today, but luckily, the rest of the Trojans were on top of their game. FIGHT ON!

3 thoughts on “spinach artichoke dip

Leave a Reply

