st. valentine’s day

The big D-Day!
Not really though.

I really have to say, one of the things I love most about Valentine’s Day is hearing what the single people have to say. More in particular the single ladies I guess, because I don’t think boys care about Valentine’s Day. It’s just a money suck for them. Haha.

But here are some of my favorite texts and FB status updates:

“Omgsh so at a table next to me a guy gave this girl a single rose and she was giggling nonstop. Just when I was about to smack her in my imagination, the guy shushed her. So conclusion: all is well.”

“The best part of my day was the textbook, meeting up for a group project, homework, and imagining Jason Mraz was singing prettiest friend to me while eating dark chocolate.”

“Happy Overrated Day!”

“All the girls on campus are smiling at their phones. Lame.”

“If I have a Valentine next year, can someone make sure I don’t upload pictures of stupid flowers or bears all over Facebook? I understand uploading something that is actually interesting, but no one cares that OOOOH you got stupid flowers that look like every other flower that grows on the ground! Or a stupid box of chocolates that looks like every other box of chocolates out there!” (EFFING LOL)

I spent my Valentine’s Day delivering cookies. I haven’t baked in a while, so it was particularly exhausting yesterday. I had to bake cookies for somebody because I lost a bet I made last year that I totally forgot about. -____________- I hate losing!!!!

And being the sore loser that I am, I made some ugly cookies.

Snickerdoodles.

No chocolate. No pink. No red. No heart shapes.

Suck. On. That.

Just cinnamon, sugar, and butter.

They’re a little ugly, but hopefully you can forgive their unsightly appearance.

Happy Valentine’s Day!

Snickerdoodles

1 cup butter
1 1/2 cups white sugar
2 eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons cream of tartar
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons white sugar
2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F (200 degrees C).

Cream together butter, shortening, 1 1/2 cups sugar, the eggs and the vanilla. Blend in the flour, cream of tartar, soda and salt. Shape dough by rounded spoonfuls into balls.

Mix the 2 tablespoons sugar and the cinnamon. Roll balls of dough in mixture. Place 2 inches apart on ungreased baking sheets.

Bake 8 to 10 minutes, or until set but not too hard. Remove immediately from baking sheets.

4 thoughts on “st. valentine’s day

  1. oddrey

    YES I MADE MY WAY INTO YOUR BLOG!

    And honestly I’m not bitter/unhappy at all. Haha. It was just literally so ridiculous trying to walk and avoid all the girls staring happily down at their phones. But I had a wonderful day, too!

    P.S. I don’t think those cookies are ugly at all…when I walked into your apt with Eunice yesterday I couldn’t stop staring at them. Haha. Where’s MINE?!

    Like this

  2. bonnevivante Post author

    I know. It was just so funny I had to include it. hahahahahahhaah.
    Come get some!!! I have four left.

    Like this

  3. Pingback: snickerdoodle muffins |

Leave a Reply

