currywurst & bourbon vanilla

Three stressed girls studying for the CPA exam… need a food adventure.

Checked out the new Currywurst place on Fairfax with the only two people I know who’ve tried the real thing in Germany (Budapest alums.) If you don’t know what currywurst is, click here. It’s basically German street food where they toss sliced up sausages in a curry ketchup sauce.

Compared to the Berlin Currywurst in Silverlake which we tried like… 5 months ago, the verdict was:

1. Currywurst has better curry ketchup sauce. Their veal & pork bockwurst was derrrricious!

2. Currywurst has AMAZING fries. So deliciously crispy and so potato-ey at the same time. HOW DO THEY DO IT?!

Currywurst

3. And the garlic mayo. Lots of garlic. Wow.

4. Berlin Currywurst gives better bread to soak up the curry ketchup sauce. I prefer the peasant bread over the overly soft roll that they had at Currywurst.

5. Berlin Currywurst is better on the heat factor. I got the “hot” at Currywurst even though the girl at the front told me it was pretty spicy and made her mouth burn. Tasted like a mild to me. WHERE IS MAH SPICY? Next time I might just ask them to put more spicy powder on it.

Not that I know what I’m even talking about since I’ve never tried legit currywurst from Europe, but yay for street food! Even if it costs $10 here. Currywurst is pretty filling for $10 though because of the fries and the bread. We were a sad bunch, couldn’t finish two orders of fries between the three of us.

Something that both places need to work on… Getting a liquor license! Some hefewiezens por favor.

Settled for Bionade instead.

For some additional de-stressing, I also baked some cookies. Yeah, cookies. Yeah, I always bake cookies, so what.

Did you know that Trader Joe’s carries Pure Bourbon Vanilla Extract? Because I didn’t.

I know it’s Halloween, and I should be baking something orange and pumpkin-filled (I’m totes craving some good pumpkin bread by the way) and all harvest-y but when do I ever care about baking things in relation to season or festivity?

The answer is never.

I made white chocolate and cranberry cookies.  Cookies solve all my problems. Try it. Studying on a Friday night got you down? Cookie.

Work stressing you out? Cookie.

Pants getting too tight? Coo-…. Just eat it. Whatever.

Got a holiday party coming up and need to buy a dress soon? IMMA JUST EAT THESE COOKIES, WHATEVS. Nbd.

White chocolate + cranberries = Christmas colors. Is it Christmas yet??

It was 85 degrees today. But I can’t wait for them to decorate The Grove with that huge tree and tons of Christmas lights! I want to drink hot chocolate! I want to go ice-skating at Pershing Square! I want to wear my red and white mittens! I want Christmas ham! I want prime rib!!! I want Starbucks Cranberry Bliss Bars!!!

White Chocolate and Cranberry Cookies
Yield: 2 dozen
adapted from allrecipes.com

1/2 cup butter, softened
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 cup white sugar
1 egg
1 tablespoon bourbon vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 cup white chocolate chips
3/4 cup dried cranberries

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C).

In a large bowl, cream together the butter, brown sugar, and white sugar until smooth. Beat in the egg and brandy. Combine the flour and baking soda; stir into the sugar mixture. Mix in the white chocolate chips and cranberries. Drop by heaping spoonfuls onto ungreased cookie sheets.

Bake for 8 to 10 minutes in the preheated oven. For best results, take them out while they are still doughy. Allow cookies to cool for 1 minute on the cookie sheets before transferring to wire racks to cool completely.

(Note. I should’ve let these sit in the fridge overnight so they would be more chewy. But some people like soft cookies I guess. I, on the other hand, like crispy and chewy. I’d probably do it over with melted butter.)

7 thoughts on “currywurst & bourbon vanilla

  1. J

    Mmm… bourbon vanilla! I miss having a TJ’s nearby *so* much. I wonder if I could just scrape vanilla seeds into bourbon, let them get to know each other for a few weeks, and use that? The key really is the bourbon, I’m sure you agree… ;)

    These cookies look delicious. White chocolate and cranberry are a great combination. I just made some dark chocolate and cherry cookies over the weekend, myself. Different flavors but some similar overall notes. I’ll look forward to catching more of your recipes on TasteSpotting.

    Like this

  2. bonnevivante Post author

    Never can get enough TJ’s. Sometimes I’m glad they’re not too close to me because I’d probably be spending all my money there.
    You know, I totally thought bourbon vanilla had bourbon in it, too, but I looked it up and apparently it’s just what they call the highest grade of vanilla! I don’t think there’s any alcohol in there at all. Although throwing vanilla beans in some quality bourbon for some drunken cookies sounds freakin delicious.

    Dark chocolate & cherry! Sounds amazeballs. Like Cherry Garcia in a cookie.
    Thanks for stopping by~

    Like this

  3. lynnskim

    We need to plan our first sleepover. Let’s do it after you take the CPA, yes? When do you take it again? Sorry for asking for the 2534098th time.

    I want to go to there. And many other theres.

    Like this

  4. lynnskim

    Love the flat cooling rack. :)

    And love the assymmetry of the cookies. They remind me of Christmas for some reason.

    Like this

  5. bonnevivante Post author

    Taking the exam Nov.21! Fsho. Come sleepover. :) We still need to go to A-Frame for the fried chicken.

    CHRISTMASSSSSS <3 I can't wait for Christmas. I can't wait for Thanksgiving.

    Like this

  6. Pingback: Sunday Morning Pancakes « My Bizzy Kitchen

  7. Pingback: Happy All Those Things

Leave a Reply

