big sisters deserve chocolate

So, it’s a little bit belated, but it’s my sister’s birthday! Isn’t she pretty? :)

My big sis is my best friend… If you have a sister, I think you’ll understand… But when sisters are around each other, there’s a sudden transformation. No matter how cool you used to be. Well. All of a sudden, you are total dorks. The fattiest food freaks. The most maniacal laughs. The pinnacle of dweeb-dom. The lamest jokes. The meanest you can be to someone without them getting PO’d. Total judgment and total acceptance. To know someone is your other half but be amazed at how completely opposite you are.

She is a beautiful, amazing, smart lady and she has always been there for me for the past twenty-something years of my life after we decided to stop trying to tear each other’s hair out.

Celebrating our birthdays together :)

Twinsies! ;)

Keepin it real since '89.

We were cute babies, I know. What makes babies this happy I wonder? What are we even laughing about?

I considered baking my big sister a German chocolate cake as an inside joke… ;) But I decided against it since I personally don’t like coconut and since I’ve never actually tasted one, I didn’t think I’d be able to do it much justice.

She still deserves chocolate cake on her birthday though! Like any self-respecting classy lady. And homegirl loves chocolate.

I went with chocolate and roses…. Chocolate rose cupcakes?

We’re SO ROMANTICAL! I think it was a good choice.

I used this tutorial for making a rose cake as inspiration, but I figured it would be much to difficult to slice a birthday cake in a dive bar, so I went with individual cupcakes instead. Hopefully I can make the cake someday! It looks gorgeous. :) The cupcakes were made from the easiest chocolate cake recipe in the world! Just one bowl! Love it. I hate doing dishes.

My sister celebrates her birthday with a few of her college roommates who are all March babies so I took it to a big group last night. Hope they enjoyed it and someone go take them soup today. They’re probably somewhat hungover.

Chocolate Cupcakes
Serving: 24 cupcakes
Adapted from one-bowl chocolate cake

2 cups white sugar
1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
2 eggs
1 cup milk
1/2 cup vegetable oil
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 cup boiling water

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Place cupcake papers in a muffin tin.In a large bowl, stir together the sugar, flour, cocoa, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Add the eggs, milk, oil and vanilla, mix for 2 minutes on medium speed of mixer. Stir in the boiling water last. Batter will be thin. Pour evenly into the prepared pans.

Bake 20 to 25 minutes in the preheated oven, until the cake tests done with a toothpick. Cool in the pans for 10 minutes, then remove to a wire rack to cool completely. (Wait until COMPLETELY COOL before frosting!)

Cream Cheese Frosting
Enough to frost 24 cupcakes
2 (8 ounce) packages cream cheese, softened
1/2 cup butter, softened
2 cups sifted confectioners’ sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

In a medium bowl, cream together the cream cheese and butter until creamy. Mix in the vanilla, then gradually stir in the confectioners’ sugar. Store in the refrigerator after use. (I added a little bit of Wilton’s pastel pink gel.)

I used a 1M frosting tip to make the roses! Using the iambaker tutorial will probably explain how to make the roses a lot better than I can. But think of starting in the middle of the cupcake and swooping around. Kind of the opposite of how you would normally frost a cupcake!

7 thoughts on “big sisters deserve chocolate

  1. Casey

    It was my big sister’s birthday the 24th! Haha, she sounds pretty similar, too. OBSESSED with chocolate. I made her cake as well…triple chocolate cake :)

    Like this

  2. Suburban_dec4y

    you two are soo adorable! i want to squeeze you two together until you become one…..as weird as that sounds that’s how adorable you two are. you guys look inseparable.

    Like this

Leave a Reply

